Menu
Entertainment

Top Ten Heavy Concerts in 2016

Slipknot take the headline stage at Soundwave 2015 in Brisbane at the RNA showgrounds. Photo Marc Stapelberg / The Northern Star
Slipknot take the headline stage at Soundwave 2015 in Brisbane at the RNA showgrounds. Photo Marc Stapelberg / The Northern Star Marc Stapelberg

WE TAKE a look at which are the best top ten heavy tours announced so far for 2016:

Thy Art Is Murder

 

 

23 July 2016 Miami Tavern Gold Coast

Friday 22 July 2016 Wharf Tavern Nightclub, Mooloolaba, QLD, Australia

Wednesday 27 July 2016 The Coffs Hotel, Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia

Friday 29 July 2016 Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle, NSW, Australia

Saturday 30 July 2016 Wollongong Uni Bar, Wollongong, NSW, Australia

Thy Art is Murder have a new singer and new energy. The band have made waves overseas and their own brand of deathcore is dynamic and heavy.

If you like your metal tight, brutal, moody and syncopated then Thy Art bring the goods.

The USED Tour October 2016

 

 

Thursday 8th December - The Tivoli BRISBANE

The Used are one of those bands just ripple energy and charisma on stage. Their punky attitude and ripping guitar mixed with dazzling energy from front man Bert McCracken and this means they are a must see for any live music fan.

In that spirit, for the first time ever in Australia THE USED will be performing their self-titled album 'The Used' in full one night and then 'In Love And Death' in full the next night.

Live gigs like this are wherenostalgia rule and that means it is a unique one time event.

Apocalyptica September 2016

 

 

Sun., 25 Sep. 7:00 pm West End QLD Max Watt's House of Music

If you havent seen Apocalyptica before then do yourself a favour and grab a ticket. Basically a band made up of four cello's, this is metal done in a way that is just breathtaking.

Originally making their name by covering Metallica, the band have progressed onto originals.

Don't let the cello's fool you.

This is a rock concert of the craziest and highest level.

Ever seen a cello played with teeth?

Thought not. But you will if you go to the show. A great concert for classical lovers as well.

Suicide Silence Tour September 2016

 

 

Saturday 3rd - BRISBANE - Woolly Mammoth 18+

Suicide Silence are the kings of deathcore and there are very few fans of this genre that would deny they are a must see.

The band have brought in long time friend and All Shall Perish vocalist Eddie Hermida and after two years touring they are finally returning to Australia after their dynamc Soundwave performance.

Bring Me the Horizon Tour September 2016

 

 

Fri., 16 Sep. Brisbane QLD Riverstage

Bring Me the Horizon have divided fans with their radical changes in sound.

However, this band are outstanding live performers with some brutally heavy songs from their back catalogue.

Metal Down Under Tour 15 October 2016

Metal United Down Under (MUDU) is a national, all-day event across Australia involving up to 15 cities and over 100 bands all playing under the one banner in a night of united metal.

This is a must as supporting local artist is vitally important to keep our local metal scene live and well.

Slipknot Tour October 2016

 

 

Fri., 28 Oct. Brisbane Entertainment Centre, Brisbane, Australia

Slipknot need no introduction. Now one of the biggest bands in the world they have made a name for themselves with masks, pyro and mad onstage stunts.

Their stage production is huge and a headlining gig of their own is sure to be mean more fan favourite songs will be played.

And if that's not enough Lamb of God are supports.

Who needs soundwave when you have a night of metal like that?

Deftones Tour November 2016

 

 

Sun., 13 Nov 7:00 pm Brisbane QLD Riverstage

Deftones erupted on the scene in the nu-metal era with Korn and quickly redefined what it meant to be heavy.

Now after multiple albums and overcoming personal tragedy the band are heading back to Australia to headline their own tour with Karnivool as supports.

Moody, atmospheric and heavy I couldn't think of a better venue for Deftones than Riverstage.

A Day To Remember Tour December 2016

 

 

DECEMBER 18 THE RIVERSTAGE, BRISBANE SUNDAY

A Day To Remember are bringing their melodic hardcore/metalcore sound to Australia.

And who else is coming? Of Mice and Men.

For me that is a two for the price of one.

 

FULL LIST OF HEAVY GIGS HAPPENING AROUND AUSTRALIA 2016

Weedeater with Conan

Thursday 14 July 2016 Crowbar, Fortitude Valley, QLD, Australia

Friday 15 July 2016 Manning Bar, Sydney, NSW, Australia

Saturday 16 July 2016 Max Watt's - Melbourne, Melbourne, VIC, Australia

Sunday 17 July 2016 Rosemount Hotel, Perth, WA, Australia

HELLIONS

Quality Of Life Australian Tour

Friday 29th July - Evelyn Hotel, Melbourne (18+)

Saturday 30th July - Arrow On Swanson, Melbourne (AA)

Friday 5th August - Enigma Bar, Adelaide (LIC/AA)

Friday 12th August - Bald Faced Stag, Sydney (LIC/AA)

Saturday 13th August - The Brightside, Brisbane (18+)

Be'lakor (melbourne) with special guests

Sat., 16 Jul. 8:00 pm Fortitude Valley QLD Crowbar Brisbane

Fri., 8 Jul. 7:00 pm Marrickville NSW The Factory Theatre

Sat., 9 Jul. 7:00 pm Belconnen ACT The Basement

Sat., 23 Jul. 8:00 pm Richmond VIC The Corner Hotel

Sat., 30 Jul. 8:00 pm Adelaide SA Fowler's Live

Sat., 6 Aug. 8:00 pm North Perth WA Rosemount Hotel

Thy Art Is Murder

Friday 22 July 2016 Wharf Tavern Nightclub, Mooloolaba, QLD, Australia

Wednesday 27 July 2016 The Coffs Hotel, Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia

Friday 29 July 2016 Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle, NSW, Australia

Saturday 30 July 2016 Wollongong Uni Bar, Wollongong, NSW, Australia

Sunday 31 July 2016 Masonic Hall, Wodonga, Wodonga, VIC, Australia

Wednesday 03 August 2016 Karova Lounge, Ballarat, VIC, Australia

Thursday 04 August 2016 The Loft, Warrnambool, VIC, Australia

Friday 05 August 2016 The Barwon Club Hotel, Geelong, VIC, Australia

Saturday 06 August 2016 Pier Hotel - Pelly Bar, Frankston, VIC, Australia

Sunday 07 August 2016 Phoenix Youth Centre, Footscray, VIC, Australia

Pearce the Veil with

SILVERSTEIN, BEARTOOTH and STORM THE SKY joining them on all dates.

Aug 16 EATONS HILL HOTEL Brisbane

Aug 17 Big Top Sydney NSW

Aug 18 Thebarton Theatre Adelaide

Aug 20 170 Russell Greensborough

Aug 21 170 Russell Greensborough

Aug 23 Astor Theatre Mt Lawley

Dead Letter Circus - The Burning Number Tour

Aug 18 The Gov Adelaide,

Aug 19 170 Russell Melbourne Vic,

Aug 20 The Metro Sydney Nsw,

Aug 21 Cambridge Hotel Newcastle West,

Aug 24 Coffs Harbour Hotel Coffs Harbour Nsw,

Aug 25 Brunswick Head Hotel Brunswick Heads,

Aug 26 Sol Bar Maroochydore Qld,

Aug 27 Triffid Brisbane,

Aug 31 Bar 120 Hillarys,

Sep 01 Players Bar Mandurah,

Sep 02 Settlers Tavern Burnside,

Lacuna Coil

Sat., 15 Oct. 8:00 pm West End QLD Max Watt's House of Music

Wed., 12 Oct. 7:30 pm Perth WA Amplifier

Thu., 13 Oct. 8:00 pm Melbourne VIC Max Watts

Fri., 14 Oct. 8:00 pm Sydney NSW The Metro Theatre

Bring Me the Horizon

Fri., 16 Sep. Brisbane QLD Riverstage

Wed., 14 Sep. Mount Claremont WA HBF Stadium

Sat., 17 Sep. Moore Park NSW Hordern Pavilion

Sun., 18 Sep. Moore Park NSW Hordern Pavilion

Tue., 20 Sep. Hindmarsh SA Adelaide Entertainment Centre

Thu., 22 Sep. Melbourne VIC Margaret Court Arena

Fri., 23 Sep. Melbourne VIC Margaret Court Arena

SUICIDE SILENCE AUSTRALIAN TOUR DATES SEPTEMBER 2016

Saturday 3rd - BRISBANE - Woolly Mammoth 18+

Sunday 4th - SYDNEY, Manning Bar 18+

Tuesday 6th - NEWCASTLE, The Cambridge 18+

Wednesday 7th - MELBOURNE, 170 Russell 18+

Thursday 8th - ADELAIDE, Fowlers Live Lic/AA

Friday 9th - PERTH, Amplifier 18+

Apocalyptica

Sun., 25 Sep. 7:00 pm West End QLD Max Watt's House of Music

Wed., 21 Sep. 7:00 pm Perth WA Katana Asset Management Ltd

Fri., 23 Sep. 7:00 pm Melbourne VIC Russell

Sat., 24 Sep. 7:00 pm Sydney NSW The Metro Theatre

Slipknot with Lamb of God

Fri., 28 Oct. Brisbane Entertainment Centre, Brisbane, Australia

Sat., 29 Oct. Qudos Bank Arena (Formerly Allphones Arena), Sydney, Australia

Mon., 31 Oct. Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne, Australia

Lamb of God extra dates

NOVEMBER 1 HQ COMPLEX, ADELAIDE TUESDAY

NOVEMBER 3 METROPOLIS, FREMANTLE THURDSAY

Dandy Warhols Australian Tour October 2016

26th Oct - PERTH - Metro City

27th Oct - ADELAIDE - HQ

29th Oct - BRISBANE - Eatons Hill Hotel

30th Oct - GOLD COAST - Parkwood Tavern

3rd Nov - CANBERRA - ANU Bar

4th Nov - SYDNEY - Big Top

5th Nov - MELBOURNE - Palais Theatre

MAYDAY PARADE AUSTRALIAN TOUR DATES

THURSDAY OCTOBER 6th - EATONS HILL HOTEL, BRISBANE (Lic/AA)

FRIDAY OCTOBER 7th - THE METRO THEATRE, SYDNEY (Lic/AA)

SATURDAY OCTOBER 8th - ARROW ON SWANSTON, MELBOURNE (All Ages)

SUNDAY OCTOBER 9th - 170 RUSSELL, MELBOURNE (18+)

WEDNESDAY OCTOBER 12th - THE GOV, ADELAIDE (Lic/AA)

THURSDAY OCTOBER 13th - THE ASTOR, PERTH (Lic/AA)

Deftones with Karnivool

Sun., 13 Nov 7:00 pm Brisbane QLD Riverstage

Tue., 8 Nov. 7:00 pm Northbridge WA Metro City

Thu., 10 Nov. 7:00 pm Torrensville SA Thebarton Theatre

Fri., 11 Nov. 7:00 pm West Melbourne VIC Festival Hall

Sat., 12 Nov. 7:00 pm Moore Park NSW Hordern Pavilion

The USED Australian Tour Dates

NIGHT 1: SELF-TITLED

Monday 21st November - 170 Russell MELBOURNE

Saturday 26th November - Metropolis FREMANTLE

Tuesday 29th November - HQ ADELAIDE

Friday 2nd December - Enmore Theatre SYDNEY - New Show Upgrade

Monday 5th December - 170 Russell MELBOURNE - SOLD OUT

Thursday 8th December - The Tivoli BRISBANE

NIGHT 2: IN LOVE AND DEATH

Tuesday 22nd November - 170 Russell MELBOURNE

Sunday 27th November - Metropolis FREMANTLE

Wednesday 30th November - HQ ADELAIDE

Saturday 3rd December - Enmore Theatre SYDNEY - New Show Upgrade

Tuesday 6th December - 170 Russell MELBOURNE - SOLD OUT

Friday 9th December - The Tivoli BRISBANE

A Day To Remember Tour Dates: 

RED HILL AUDITORIUM, PERTH SATURDAY DECEMBER 10

AEC THEATRE, ADELAIDE TUESDAY DECEMBER 13

FESTIVAL HALL, MELBOURNE WEDNESDAY DECEMBER 14

HORDERN PAVILION, SYDNEY FRIDAY DECEMBER 16

THE RIVERSTAGE, BRISBANE SUNDAY DECEMBER 18

all shows are licensed all ages 

Raise Fist Tour Dates

TUESDAY NOVEMBER 29TH - KINGS ARMS, AUCKLAND (18+)

Tickets available at www.undertheradar.co.nz

THURSDAY DECEMBER 1ST - THE CAMBRIDGE HOTEL, NEWCASTLE (18+)

Tickets available at www.oztix.com.au |www.bigtix.com.au

FRIDAY DECEMBER 2ND - THE METRO THEATRE, SYDNEY (18+)

Tickets available at www.metrotheatre.com.au   | www.ticketek.com.au

SATURDAY DECEMBER 3RD - MAX WATTS, MELBOURNE (18+)

Tickets available at www.oztix.com.au |www.maxwatts.com.au

SUNDAY DECEMBER 4TH - MAX WATTS, BRISBANE (18+)

Tickets available at www.oztix.com.au |www.maxwatts.com.au

WEDNESDAY DECEMBER 7TH - FOWLERS LIVE, ADELAIDE (18+)

Tickets available at www.oztix.com.au |www.moshtix.com.au

THURSDAY DECEMBER 8TH - THE ROSEMOUNT, PERTH (18+)

Tickets available at www.oztix.com.au

PANIC! AT THE DISCO 2017 AUSTRALIAN TOUR DATES

Wednesday 25th January, Metro City, PERTH 18+

Friday 27th January, Hordern Pavilion, SYDNEY Lic/AA

Saturday 28th January, Festival Hall, MELBOURNE Lic/AA

Tuesday 31st January, Eaton's Hill Hotel, BRISBANE Lic/AA

EXCLUSIVE FAN PRE SALE BEGINS: TUESDAY 5th JULY 9AM

TICKETS ON SALE: THURSDAY 7th JULY 9AM


To read more go to: http://www.northernstar.com.au/topic/the-hard-word/

Topics:  deathcore hardcore metal punk the hard word